Hinduism demands that man should live with no

Hinduism and Jainism are two
different religions in the world that come from the same tree of Indian
religion. They have many similarities or ideas but their practices and acts
differ greatly.

Many religions have a starting
point or a particular founder that begun the tradition but Hinduism has no
founder. They believe in the principles of universal acceptance and this is
known as Dharma or inherent order of the universe. “According to the Hinduism,
people must strive to achieve the four ends of human life while living in the
mortal world. And they are: Dharma (righteousness), Artha (Material wealth),
Kama (Sensual pleasure), and Moksha (liberation)” (Kishor, 2011). There are
three main gods in Hinduism and they are, Braham, Vishnu and Shiva. Brahma is
the creator of the universe and its creatures while Vishnu is the god who
preserves the creation and Shiva is the destroyer (Dr. Cook slides, 2017).
Though they seem to be 3 different gods, Hindus will say that they are all one
God just in 3 different forms. In contrast, Jainism has spiritual teachers or
ford makers called Tirthankaras which aid other Jains to reach enlightenment but
and it was said that the founder of the religion was the 24th
Tirthankara known as Mahavira. The basic concepts of Jainism can be explained
in three major principles. And they are: Ahimsa (non-violence), Anekanta
(non-absolution) and Aprigraha (non-possession). “Jainism as compared to
Hinduism does not speak about the division of human beings into various classes
and stages but they speak about the virtue of non-possession which is considered
as a virtue that every human being must possess. This virtue is seen as a
complementary virtue of non-violence. Jainism also demands that man should live
with no attachment whatsoever to worldly and material things” (Kishor, 2011).

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

Reincarnation is the belief that,
when a person dies, his or her soul comes back to earth in another body or form
depending on their actions in their previous life. Both Hinduism and Jainism believe
strongly in reincarnation. According to the Jains, reincarnation which is also
known as karma is seen as something with clings on to a soul as a result of its
activities therefore making it impure and heavy. They believe that killing or
taking the life of something is the highest amount of bad karma and one’s karma
determines what he or she is going to be in the next life. “That is if you have
low karma you may come back as a god and those with high karma may be beast or
go to hell while those with very pure souls (no karma at all) remain with
external liberated souls remain in external bliss” (Mugambi, 1990). They also
belive that the soul goes through 14 stages before being reincarnated known as
Gunasthanas. “In Hinduism, a soul will reincarnate again and again on earth
until it becomes perfect to reunite with its source”(“The Belief of
Reincarnation of Soul in Hinduism,” n.d.) .